top of page
  • Hattie Ireland

Tick, tock...




Illustration by Charlotte Hattrell Age is but a number as the old saying goes, it is meant to bring some solace when the grey hair starts to show. But it really isn’t definite and is different to us all, and I can’t seem to see where I fit in with it at all. We measure life in milestones like eighteen and twenty-one, have I completed the checklist and ticked off all I’ve done? Success is often measured by the years gone by, do we have a job yet, are we married, or just living on the fly? We’re judged to be a failure if we’re not at the same stage, but why measure us the same just because we are the same age? Some of us are parents, some are unemployed, some seem to be doing just fine whilst others are lost in a void. I don’t know where I fit in here, in this funny uncertain time, between childhood and adulthood, supposedly in my prime. Some days I feel okay about it, happy with where I’m at, enjoying life at home, not a corporate copycat. But some days I just panic. Is my time running out? Questioning my choices, my head so full of doubt. But if age is really just a number, you can’t let it get you down. Sometimes society will box you in, but just take a breath – slow down. Some years will pass you by with no change at all, others will be revolutionary, but remember, it is all your call.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page